A humanist looks at death


Smoke from the Honey Prairie and Pains Bay fir...

Smoke from the Honey Prairie and Pains Bay fires, Atlantic Ocean (Photo credit: NASA Goddard Photo and Video)

 

1.

You barely understand what this life is. How can you talk about life after death?

Therefore, live this life well.

 

2.
Where does a wave on a lake go when the wind ceases to blow?

Where does a cloud go when it has moved across the sky?

That’s where life goes when there is no more breath.

 

3.
I am gathered from the dust of the universe.

I become myself when I am born.

I become my non-self when I die.

 

4.
There was no me before my birth, for I am made in relation to others.

Therefore, death is the returning to the not-me.

I will be the not-me that existed before my birth.

 

5.
There is no me after death.

Therefore, there is nothing to fear in death itself.

It is a returning to the non-me.

 

6.
You are like a ripple on the water.

You come.

You go.

You are forever.

 

7.
The great mystery is not death

The great mystery is that you have been born.

 

8.
The great mystery is not that those who have been here are now gone.

The great mystery is that they have been here at all.

 

9.

To be alone in grief is misery.

To be with another in grief is life sanctified.

 

10.
Pain held privately is biology.

Pain shared is a form of healing.

 

11.
Pain, while inevitable, isn’t a good in and of itself.

Pain increases the awareness of important things in life.

 

12.

Tragedy is unavoidable.

You suffer fates through no fault of your own.

Still the sun shines and flowers bloom.

 

13.
Let go of a past too tightly held.

 

14.
In the face of tragedy, there is darkness and light.

Choose light. 

 

Leave a Reply

